Jump to content

The Three Main Dimensions Of Religion In Islam.

Recommended Posts

As-Salaam alaikum,

 In the universal religion of Islam, there are 3 dimensions that encompass the outward and inward expressions of the belief system. These 3 dimensions are:--

(1) Islam-- This is based on Tawheed (belief in the Oneness and Uniqueness of Allah); five daily prayers, offering of Zakkat (almsgiving), fasting in the monthof Ramadan, and performing pilgrimage to Makkah. These are known as the 'five pillars' of Islam.... the building blocks of the domain of knowledge, which later came to be called Islamic Jurisprudence or Shari'ah.

(2) The second dimension is that of Imaan (faith). This is an expression of a specific conviction in the belief in Allah (God), His Messengers, His Angels, the Last Day of Judgement, His Books and the good and evil fate as ordained by Allah Ta'ala. These form the core of Islamic Theology, which was elaborated by theologians.

The tow dimensions above (Islam and Imaan) both teach us that religious practice and belief system are interrelated and are incomplete without each other.

(3) The third dimension is Ihsan, which in the words of the Prophet Muhammad, Sallallahu alaihi Wasallam, means to:

                                                     "Worship Allah as if you see Him, for if you see Him not, yet He sees you."


Ihsan reminds us, Muslims, that we are always in the Presence of Allah and that one should consider this Presence in all his thoughts and actions. Thus Ihsan adds spirituality to the religion.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Create New...